— / Kutub Şah Hanedanı

The dynasty’s founder, Sultan Quli Qutb-ul-Mulk, migrated to Delhi from Iran, with his uncle, Allah-Quli, some of his relatives and friends in the beginning of the 16th century. Later he migrated south, to the Deccan and served the Bahmani sultan, Mohammad Shah. He conquered Golconda, after the disintegration of the Bahmani Kingdom into the five Deccan sultanates. Soon after, he declared independence from the Bahmani Sultanate, took the title Qutub Shah, and established the Qutb Shahi dynasty of Golconda. He was later assassinated in 1543 by his son, Jamsheed, who assumed the sultanate. Jamsheed died in 1550 from cancer. Jamsheed’s young son reigned for a year, at which time the nobility brought back and installed Ibrahim Quli as sultan. During the reign of Muhammad Quli Qutb Shah, relations between Hindus and Muslims were strengthened, even to the point of Hindus resuming their religious festivals like Diwali and Holi.


The eight sultans in the dynasty were:
1512 – 1543 Sultan Kulı Kutb-ül Mülk
1543 – 1550 Cemşid
1550 – 1550 Sübhan Kulı
1550 – 1580 İbrahim
1580 – 1596 Muhammed Kulı
1596 – 1612 Muhammed
1612 – 1672 Abdullah
1672 – 1678 Ebu-l Hasen