Azərbaycan Prezidenti / Azerbaycan cumhurbaşkanı

The President of Azerbaijan is the head of state for the Azerbaijan Republic. A candidate for the office must be a citizen of Azerbaijan at least 35 years old, and resident in Azerbaijan for at least 10 years. Each faction in the National Assembly has the right to nominate a candidate for the presidential elections. The minimum number of signatures for a presidential candidate fielded by a political party with no parliamentary representation is 40,000, before amendments to the law.


1991 – 1992 Ayaz Mütəllibov
1992 – 1993 Əbülfəz Elçibəy
1993 – 2003 Heydər Əliyev
2003 – 2025 İlham Əliyev*

* The next presidential elections will be held in 2025.